Have Your Dessert, and Eat it Too! (Chocolate-Peanut Butter Chia Pudding)

I have as much of a sweet tooth as the next girl, and while I try to satiate it with fruit, that sometimes doesn’t work.  Sometimes you want something thick, creamy, and chocolatey… or even better yet, chocolatey AND peanut-buttery.  In my mind, there is no better combination than chocolate and peanut butter.  You could always go for a Reese’s cup, but I DARE you to just eat one.  Before you know it, you’ve eaten multiple king sized packs of Reese’s and added a pound of guilt right to your ass…ets.  Luckily, I’ve created a thick, creamy pudding that has enough of the chocolate and peanut butter taste that you so desire, but without all of the sugar that will leave you ravenous for more.

This pudding is thickened by one of my favorite power foods- chia seeds!  If you’ve read my previous posts, you should notice that chia is one of my go-tos for healthy recipes– and with reason.  They’re packed with omega-3s, protein, and fiber, leaving you full and satisfied.  They are also great because when you add liquid to them they become gelatinous, making for a great pudding thickener!  So here you go, my sweet-toothed health freaks!

Image

Chocolate- Peanut Butter Chia Pudding:

Serves 2

1/2 of a large banana

1 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk

4 T PB2 (if you’ve never used this… get it.  It is a miracle.  It’s powdered peanut butter– aka all the peanut-y taste without the fat and calories.  I’m obsessed.  They carry it in a lot of grocery stores now but you can also order it online here)

1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 C chia seeds

Combine all of the ingredients in a blender.  Pour into an airtight container and refrigerate overnight (or at least several hours– you will know it is ready when it is thick and, well, pudding like).

Nutrition Information

Serving size : 1/2 of the recipe, or a bit more than 1/2 cup

Calories: 209; Fat: 11.9 g; Saturated fat: 0.1 g; Trans fat: 0 g; Carbs: 22.9 g; Fiber: 13.6 g; Sugar: 4.8 g; Protein: 11.9 g 

One response to “Have Your Dessert, and Eat it Too! (Chocolate-Peanut Butter Chia Pudding)

  1. Pingback: Fall in love with chia! | I Ate Too Many Cookies

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow I Ate Too Many Cookies on WordPress.com